BIELFIELD-page

We chat to pop artist Bielfield about his debut EP, ‘Boom and Bust’. 

Bielfield burst onto the scene with his debut single, a slice of funk and groove heaven matched with feel-good lyrics and vocals, entitled ‘Frequency’. Boasting a whistle note, a feat which not many artists could achieve, Bielfield made his mark on the pop consciousness.

But it all started back in Miami, Florida for self-confessed pop fanatic Bielfield, where he wrote pop music from an early age before becoming a classically trained musician – after receiving his master’s degree before a dramatic reversion back to his powerful and emotive self-written pop music. His debut EP is a treat for the ears; groovy hooks complimented with his five-octave vocal range which means he can hit almost any note.

Being signed to Sony Australia in 2013/14 gave Bielfield a platform to develop as an artist as well as have his sound heard by thousands across the globe. Bielfield’s individuality makes him one of the few artists who needs to be part of your staple diet of pop music.

– Firstly, congratulations on releasing your debut EP, ‘Boom and Bust’.  How does it feel now that the EP is finished and out there for people to hear? 

“Thank you!  It feels a bit insane honestly that I finally have an EP.  This thing took so long to create a specific sound,(Especially for Boom and Bust), and now that it’s in the universe I get to see where this will take me next.

 
 
– Surprisingly, you’re actually classically trained. What made you want to transition to pop?
Yeah, this is true – after getting my masters at The Juilliard School, I decided I wanted to try something different. I had a big breakup right before being introduced to Sony, and those types of life changes make people do crazy things lol.  I figured I wanted a total shift – and it looks like that’s what I got.


– Your music is extremely slick and groovy with elements of dance and other genres. What drew you towards mixing these sounds together? 
I have always been interested in funk, dance, and rock.  I knew that my voice is very unusual and needed different elements to be able to put it all together.  It was when I started mixing in these R&B elements that I started dancing to the music – That was when I knew it was the right direction!


– In your debut single, ‘Frequency’, you sing a whistle note. Can we presume you’re a fan of Mariah Carey? And if not, are there any specific artists who influence your sound and artistry?
Ha Ha – while I do love Mariah and her sounds, the first whistle tone came by a fluke.  I sang one in the studio when I was supposed to be doing a backing vocal and the producer I was working with freaked out – so he started mixing the vocals I had put down and the rest was history.  It got interesting when I had to start practising them for performances.


– If we stole your iPod, (like it’s 2010 again), what would be the first three songs we would find?
Simon and Garfunkel – Kathy’s Song
Lisa LeBlanc – Kraft Dinner
Whitney Houston – I look to you


– Finally, can we now expect an album and more singles in the future? Or are there any exciting new projects you’re working on?   
I am definitely looking to say something that needs to be said.  I’m not sure how this will manifest exactly, but I have been working with many different people in different musical places and even other fields to help broaden my horizons.  I wanna take the road less travelled by.  See where that takes me and my listeners.”

Bielfield’s tracks are featured in this weeks #SYNTHETICspotify playlist. Also a big thank you to Bielfield for answering our questions.