Tom Andrews speaks to the brand new popstar BB Diamond about her past, influences and visuals.  

Previously working as a backing vocalist for Jess Glynne, Clean Bandit and Ella Henderson, BB certainly packs a punch with her brand new and original material.  Showing she has the ferocity to become a pop-star and stand on the stage with her own name in lights. With her new single Feeling gaining over half a million plays on Spotify and shadowing the success of her previous single Instinct; BB is going from strength to strength. Live appearances include ITV’s This Morning and a thirty minute energetic set at BBC Radio One’s Big Weekend; these high profile gigs aren’t the only proof that BB has what it takes. Featuring on Shift K3Y’s track Gone Missing, also helps to prove that BB Diamond was born to be a star. So obviously we wanted to find out more about the exciting fresh songstress.

How has your career changed now that you’re at the front of the stage performing your own material rather than backing for someone else?

‘It’s crazy, exciting, nerve wracking and everything I always hoped it would be. It was always my ultimate goal to be an artist and perform my own songs, so to be in this position is just mental. I had such an amazing time being a backing singer and working with such incredible artists, I truly learnt so much and I’m enjoying every second of being right here, right now and I pray that long may it continue.

What has been your favourite show or performance of your career to date?

Oohh that’s tricky, I love something different from every gig! I’d have to say that performing at Radio 1’s Big Weekend was a massive moment for me as I’ve always dreamt of performing at it. Being a new artist, I know not many people will have heard of me so I was expecting it to be a small crowd, but I can honestly say I was overwhelmed with how many people turned up or stopped and watched as they were walking past, it was amazing! It was such a huge line up and I was honoured to be asked by BBC Introducing to perform.

If you had to describe your sound to someone who had never heard your music before in three words, how would you describe yourself? 

R’n’B infused Pop

Your music has a distinct sound and vibe to it. Which artist(s) inspire your music and influence your sound?

I’m constantly inspired by old and new music. My main influence in music is the king…Michael Jackson. He is the person that made me want to sing. The way he can be so aggressive and percussive with his vocal and then so intimate and pure, blows my mind. His music was the perfect blend of R’n’B and Pop and to me is timeless, so I still very much take influence from him. I LOVE music so everyday I listen to something new and find different inspirations.

You released your debut video for Feeling recently, which features vivid and loud visuals. Do you have a visual in mind as you’re creating a song, or are visuals an after thought?

It varies song to song to be honest, but for Feeling I had a very clear image of how I wanted the video. The song has a 90’s dance throwback feel to it, it’s a happy song and I wanted the video to represent that. So the Fresh Prince of Bel Air kinda visuals along with the high energy feel, I think really represents the song.

And finally, where would you like to be with your career in three years time? Or where would you ideally see yourself? 

Well the dream is to be touring the world, have some number 1 singles and a number 1 album, but truly I’m a person that likes to enjoy each day as it comes, embrace each moment as time moves so fast that you can miss the right here, right now.
I’ve always said a huge moment for me would be when the crowd sings my song back to me, that would be unreal, proper dream come true.’

So it seems that BB’s years of experience as a backing vocalist have helped her to become the glittering pop-star that she is today. With her debut album in the works and more singles lined up BB shows no sign of slowing on her reign of 90s throwback slayage. If you hadn’t heard of BB Diamond before this, then get ready for an array of ‘R’n’B infused pop’ that is about to be hurled in your direction.

The new single Feeling is available now and is also featured in this weeks #SYNTHETICspotify playlist. Also a big thank you to BB for answering our questions.